Legal basis: Non-statutory
Maximum Number of Positions: 12
Gender Balance Numbers: Female (3), Male (7)
Gender Balance Percentage: Female (30%), Male (70%)
Notes: The board of the Chester Beatty Library is a trust, established under the will of Alfred Chester Beatty. Five of its members are appointed under the State Boards appointments process (one by the President, one by the Taoiseach and three by the Minister). The remaining seven are appointed by the board itself, and these vacancies are not filled by the State Boards appointments process. Board members do not receive remuneration.

Name First Appointed Reappointed Expiry Date Position type Basis of appointment
Brian McGing 01/11/2013 01/11/2018 Board Member Taoiseach's appointee. Professor of Greek, TCD
Declan Downey 09/04/2012 09/04/2017 Board Member Ministerial appointee
Dermot Desmond 01/01/1991 Board Member
Eamonn Ceannt 24/11/2013 24/11/2018 Board Member Ministerial appointee
Kathleen James-Chakraborty 25/02/2010 25/02/2015 25/02/2020 Board Member
Marc Cochrane 01/01/1998 Board Member
Patricia Donlon 21/11/2011 21/11/2016 Board Member Ministerial appointee
Roger Stalley (Prof.) 01/01/1993 Board Member President's appointee. Professor of Art History, TCD
Sandra Collins 31/07/2015 31/07/2020 Board Member Ex officio. Director of the National Library of Ireland - Legislated by Probate
Thomas P. Hardiman 01/01/1991 Chair Elected 1998